GUITRY, Sacha.

Lot 69
Got to lot
Estimation :
15000 - 20000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 18 200EUR
GUITRY, Sacha.
Jean de La Fontaine. Comedy in 4 acts. Married Evil. Fable by Jean de La Fontaine. Sacha Guitry,[1916]. Autograph manuscript in-4 (280 x 205 mm) of 184 ff.n.ch.
most written in brown ink (except one in red ink with additions) on the front only, 8 ff.n.ch. added at the beginning with portraits, facsimiles, and La Fontaine House from other publications; brown tabis, modern green half-shagreen case.
Autograph manuscript written in a very legible, complete handwriting, signed twice at the beginning and at the end by Sacha Guitry. This is probably the finalization of the text, starting with Le Mal marié and which has undergone some additions or corrections during the drafting process.
The play was first performed in 1916 at the Théâtre des Bouffes-Parisiens: "This play is a more than successful bet..." (Jean-Pierre Danel).
It was in 1913 that "Gustave Quinson, the last director[of the institution] changed the theatre's register after the success of Henri Bernstein's Le Secret, before calling on Sacha Guitry, who gave him five of the most successful plays in his work from 1914 to 1917:
La Pélerine Écossaise, La Jalousie, Faisons un rêve, Jean de La Fontaine and L'Illusionniste" (bouffesparisiens.com).
The last leaflet written in red ink contains an addition to the last act of the dialogue between
Jean de La Fontaine and Ninon de Lenclos.
Beautiful piece, well preserved.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

GUITRY, Sacha.

Lot 69
Aller au lot
Estimation :
15000 - 20000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 18 200EUR
GUITRY, Sacha.
Jean de La Fontaine. Comédie en 4 actes. Le Mal marié. Fable de Jean de La Fontaine. Sacha Guitry, [1916]. Manuscrit autographe in-4 (280 x 205 mm) de 184 ff.n.ch.
la plupart rédigés à l'encre brune (sauf un à l'encre rouge avec des ajouts) au recto seulement, 8 ff.n.ch. ajoutés au début avec portraits, fac-similés, et la maison de La Fontaine provenant d'autres publications; tabis brun, étui demi-chagrin vert moderne.
Manuscrit autographe rédigé d'une écriture très lisible, complet, signé à deux reprises au début et à la fin par Sacha Guitry. Il s'agit probablement ici de la mise au propre du texte, débutant par Le Mal marié et qui a subi quelques ajouts ou corrections lors de la rédaction.
La pièce fut jouée pour la première fois en 1916 au Théâtre des Bouffes-Parisiens: «Cette pièce est un pari plus que réussi...» (Jean-Pierre Danel).
C'est en 1913 que «Gustave Quinson, dernier directeur en date [de l' institution] change le registre du théâtre après le succès de la pièce Le Secret d'Henri Bernstein, avant de faire appel à Sacha Guitry qui lui donne alors de 1914 à 1917, cinq pièces parmi les plus réussis de son oeuvre:
La Pélerine Écossaise, La Jalousie, Faisons un rêve, Jean de La Fontaine et L'Illusionniste» (bouffesparisiens.com).
Le dernier feuillet rédigé à l'encre rouge contient un ajout au dernier acte au dialogue entre
Jean de La Fontaine et Ninon de Lenclos.
Belle pièce, bien conservée.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue