[METHODIUS, pseudo].

Lot 93
Got to lot
Estimation :
4000 - 4500 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 4 550EUR
[METHODIUS, pseudo].
Methodius primum olimpiade et postea Tyri civitatum episcop[atium]. Basel, Michael Furter, March 1516[or March 16, 1500?]. In-8 (194 x 139 mm) of 68 ff.n.ch. Snack: a-g8 h-i6; Jansenist red morocco, inner wheel (Huser).
Fairfax-Murray, German, 289 (1504 edition and note); Caillet, 7472.
Very beautiful illustrated gothic edition of this collection of prophecies.
They are attributed to Saint Methodius, Bishop of Tyre, and are accompanied by comments on Turkish invasions by Wolfang Aytinger. The original edition of the text was published in 1475 and the first illustrated edition, given by Sébastien Brandt, was also published in Basel by Furter in 1498. Usually cited as having been printed in 1516 Fairfax-Murray suggests confusion in the reading of the colophon and gives 1500 as the printing
date The text is adorned with 61 remarkable woodcut figures (some repeated) that show Adam and Eve driven from Paradise, Alexander the Great, Gog and Magog, scenes of battles between Assyrians, Persians, Greeks and Romans, etc. The most curious of them all is certainly the one that represents the birth, by caesarean section, of the antichrist.
Washed copy, the last two sheets with restorations on the margin.
Origin: ex-libris Frédérick Coxe.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

[METHODIUS, pseudo].

Lot 93
Aller au lot
Estimation :
4000 - 4500 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 4 550EUR
[METHODIUS, pseudo].
Methodius primum olimpiade et postea Tyri civitatum episcop[atium]. Bâle, Michael Furter, mars 1516 [ou 16 mars 1500 ?]. In-8 (194 x 139 mm) de 68 ff.n.ch. Collation: a-g8 h-i6; maroquin rouge janséniste, roulette intérieure (Huser).
Fairfax-Murray, German, 289 (édition de 1504 et note); Caillet, 7472.
Très belle édition gothique illustrée de ce recueil de prophéties.
Elles sont attribuées à Saint Méthode, évêque de Tyr, et sont accompagnées de commentaires sur les invasions des Turcs par Wolfang Aytinger. L'édition originale du texte fut publiée en 1475 et la première édition illustrée, donnée par Sébastien Brandt, parut à Bâle également chez Furter en 1498.La présente édition contient les mêmes bois. Habituellement citée comme ayant été imprimée en 1516 Fairfax-Murray suggère une confusion dans la lecture du colophon et donne 1500 comme date d'impression
Le texte est orné de 61 remarquables figures gravées sur bois (dont certains répétées) qui montrent Adam et Ève chassés du Paradis, Alexandre le Grand, Gog et Magog, des scènes de batailles entre des Assyriens, des Perses, des Grecs et des Romains, etc. La plus curieuse d'entre toutes est certainement celle qui représente la naissance, par césarienne, de l'antéchrist.
Exemplaire lavé, les deux derniers feuillets avec restaurations en marge.
Provenance: ex-libris Frédérick Coxe.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue