RESTIF DE LA BRETONNE, Nicolas Edme.

Lot 113
Got to lot
Estimation :
10000 - 12000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 12 006EUR
RESTIF DE LA BRETONNE, Nicolas Edme.
Mr. Nicolas; or The Unveiled Human Heart. Published by himself. Paris, printed at home, 1794-1797. 16 parts in 8 volumes in-12 (183 x 105 mm); binding on brochure, brown cardboard, smooth back (binding from the first half of the 19th century).
Rives-Childs, XLIV (announcement by mistake of 7 introductory sheets of the first volume and not 9); Pierre Testud, notice on Mr Nicolas, in: In French in the text, n° 198; Pierre Testud, critical device for Mr Nicolas, Bibliothèque de la Pléiade, 1989, 2 volumes.
Original edition of the masterpiece by Restif de la Bretonne.
This monumental work, "one of the strangest and most extraordinary in the world's literature" (Rives Childs), forms the autobiography of Restif.
"Monsieur Nicolas is certainly first of all an autobiography whose authenticity can rarely be questioned, as evidenced by the documents, letters, or notes of My inscriptions. Certainly Restif sometimes conceals, arranges; the sense of the novelistic, the desire to interest, the sensitivity of the time play their part. But it is also an almost Balzacian work through its paintings of a childhood in the fields, a life as a worker, of the Paris of the humble and the forgotten of history. Finally, it is the sum and formal completion of a work that has so often been criticized for its prolixity, and which in the final analysis forms a single book, of which this one is a compendium... Through his constant relationship with his other books, Monsieur Nicolas is not only a self-portrait, he is also the history of his genesis and gives us the keys to his world" (cf. Dictionary of Works).
With Casanova's Memoirs, it is one of the essential readings for those who wish to acquire a direct knowledge - material and sensual - of the eighteenth century and its transformations, from the Ancien Régime to the Revolution
. Although the unquantified pages placed at the end of most of the parts indicate the subjects of the prints, they were never made and Mr N
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

RESTIF DE LA BRETONNE, Nicolas Edme.

Lot 113
Aller au lot
Estimation :
10000 - 12000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 12 006EUR
RESTIF DE LA BRETONNE, Nicolas Edme.
Monsieur-Nicolas; ou Le Coeur-humain dévoilé. Publié par lui-même. Paris, imprimé à la maison, 1794-1797. 16 parties en 8 volumes in-12 (183 x 105 mm); reliure sur brochure, cartonnage brun, dos lisse (reliure de la première moitié du XIXe siècle).
Rives-Childs, XLIV (annonce par erreur 7 feuillets liminaires du premier volume et non 9); Pierre Testud, notice sur Monsieur Nicolas, in: En français dans le texte, n° 198; Pierre Testud, appareil critique pour Monsieur Nicolas, Bibliothèque de la Pléiade, 1989, 2 volumes.
Édition originale du chef-d'oeuvre de Restif de la Bretonne.
Cet ouvrage monumental, «un des plus étranges et des plus extraordinaires qui existent dans toute la littérature du monde» (Rives Childs), forme l'autobiographie de Restif.
«Monsieur Nicolas est certes d'abord une autobiographie dont l'authenticité peut assez rarement être mise en doute, comme en témoignent les documents, les lettres, ou les notes de Mes inscriptions. Certes Restif parfois dissimule, arrange; le sens du romanesque, la volonté d' intéresser, la sensiblerie de l' époque y jouent leur rôle. Mais c'est aussi une oeuvre presque balzacienne par ses tableaux d'une enfance aux champs, d'une vie d'ouvrier, du Paris des humbles et des oubliés de l'Histoire. C'est enfin la somme et l'achèvement formel d'une oeuvre à laquelle on a si souvent reproché sa prolixité, et qui tout compte fait, ne forme qu'un seul livre dont celui-là est un compendium... Par son rapport constant avec ses autres livres, Monsieur Nicolas n'est pas seulement un autoportrait, il est aussi l' histoire de sa genèse et nous livre les clefs de son monde» (cf. Dictionnaire des oeuvres).
Avec les Mémoires de Casanova, c'est l'une des lectures indispensables pour ceux qui souhaitent acquérir une connaissance directe - matérielle et sensuelle - du dix-huitième siècle et de ses transformations, de l'Ancien Régime à la Révolution
Bien que les pages non chiffrées placées à la fin de la plupart des par
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue