Illuminated antiphonal letter with gold highlights... - Lot 238 - Pierre Bergé & Associés

Lot 238
Got to lot
Estimation :
800 - 1000 EUR
Result without fees
Result : 1 200EUR
Illuminated antiphonal letter with gold highlights... - Lot 238 - Pierre Bergé & Associés
Illuminated antiphonal letter with gold highlights on vellum, initial S illustrating the Baptism of a Christian. In the lower part of the letter, a naked man with his hands joined, half-body in a river and, in the upper part, an angel in clouds making the gesture of blessing; excrescences in the margin of foliage and flowers.
Italy, Emilia, attributed to the workshop of Martino da Modena, c. 1470/80
Height: 30.9 cm - Width: 13.6 cm
(some wear and tear and crumpling)
Work consulted: S. Hindman, M. d'Ancona, P. Palladino, M.-F. Saffiotti, The Robert Lehman Collection, IV,
Princeton, 1997, pp.184-186.
Martino di Giorgio d'Alemagna, called Martino da Modena, active in Emilia from 1460-1489 is the presumed son of
Giorgio d'Alemagna, a German illuminator known for having worked at the ducal court of Leonello and for having decorated a set of choir books (partially lost) for the cathedral of Modena. The production of
Martino da Modena and his workshop was abundant during the last third of the 15th century. Between 1477 and 1480 he illuminated no less than eleven choir books for the church of San Petronio in Bologna, in 1480; then, between 1483 and 1485, he was the author of a manuscript containing the Office of the Dead for the Ospedale della Buona Morte in Modena; he then worked on an epistolary, an evangelical and a missal for the cathedral of the same city. Finally, it is known that between 1485 and 1486 he completed a set of antiphonaries for the Cathedral of Ferrara, begun by
Evangelista Tedesco and Jacopo Filippo dell'Argenta. In this Baptism we find Martino da Modena's manner with the "Germanic" treatment of the characters in a completely Italian letter.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Lettrine d'antiphonaire enluminée avec rehauts... - Lot 238 - Pierre Bergé & Associés

Lot 238
Aller au lot
Estimation :
800 - 1000 EUR
Résultats sans frais
Résultat : 1 200EUR
Lettrine d'antiphonaire enluminée avec rehauts... - Lot 238 - Pierre Bergé & Associés
Lettrine d'antiphonaire enluminée avec rehauts d'or sur vélin, initiale S illustrant le Baptême d'un chrétien. A la partie inférieure de la lettre, homme nu, les mains jointes, à mi-corps dans une rivière et, à la partie supérieure, un ange dans des nuées faisant le geste de la bénédiction; excroissances dans la marge de rinceaux feuillagés et de fleurs.
Italie, Emilie, attribuée à l'atelier de Martino da Modena, vers 1470/80
Hauteur: 30,9 cm - Largeur: 13,6 cm
(quelques usures et froissements)
Ouvrage consulté: S. Hindman, M. d'Ancona, P. Palladino, M.-F. Saffiotti, The Robert Lehman Collection, IV,
Princeton, 1997, p.184-186.
Martino di Giorgio d'Alemagna, appelé Martino da Modena, actif en Emilie de 1460-1489 est le fils présumé de
Giorgio d'Alemagna, un enlumineur allemand connu pour avoir travaillé à la cour ducale de Leonello et pour avoir orné un ensemble de livres de choeur (partiellement perdus) pour la cathédrale de Modène. La production de
Martino da Modena et de son atelier est abondante durant le dernier tiers du XVe siècle. Entre 1477 et 1480, il enlumine pas moins de onze livres de choeur pour l'église San Petronio à Bologne, en 1480; puis, entre 1483 et 1485, il est l'auteur d'un manuscrit contenant l'Office des Morts pour l'Ospedale della Buona Morte à Modène; il travaille ensuite à un épistolaire, un évangéliaire et un missel pour la cathédrale de la même ville. On sait enfin qu'entre 1485 et 1486, il termine un ensemble d'antiphonaires pour la cathédrale de Ferrare, commencés par
Evangelista Tedesco et Jacopo Filippo dell'Argenta. On retrouve bien dans ce Baptême, la manière de Martino da Modena avec le traitement « germanique » des personnages dans une lettrine quant à elle tout à fait italienne.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue