Donatien Alphonse François, marquis de SADE.

Lot 22
Got to lot
Estimation :
8000 - 12000 EUR
Donatien Alphonse François, marquis de SADE.
Les Crimes de l'Amour, heroic and tragic short stories; preceded by an Idea on novels, and decorated with engravings. By D.A.F. Sade, author of Aline et Valcour. Paris, Massé, year VIII [1800].
4 volumes in 2 volumes in-12 : half brown basane, smooth spines decorated with gilt fillets, red calf title-pieces, yellow edges (modern binding).
First edition: it is decorated with four frontispieces, engraved in intaglio, unsigned; they are printed before the letter, as it should be.
An important literary manifesto.
By way of a Foreword, the Marquis de Sade delivers, in about fifty pages, his Idea on novels. No doubt in order to escape the denunciations of which he was the object, he makes the apology of the sensitive and moral novel, getting out of it by a pirouette addressed to the detractors of Aline and Valcour: "I answer that I have made those of my heroes who follow the career of vice so frightful, that they very often inspire neither pity nor love, and in this I am more moral than those who think they are permitted to embellish them."
He expresses his admiration for Mme de La Fayette, Rousseau, and the Abbé Prévost; on the other hand, Restif de La Bretonne is unceremoniously executed, due to his "low style, disgusting adventures... for which only the pepper merchants will thank him." The essay ends with a surprisingly strong praise of nature. It is a nature "more bizarre than the moralists paint it for us," incorporating both destructive forces and perversions.
A collection of eleven short stories, two of which, according to Gilbert
Lély, "deserve to be ranked among the marquis's masterpieces: Florville and Courval and Eugénie de Franval."
The short stories are heroic and tragic fictions, inspired by contemporary noir novels, following a reverse moral... "There is neither tale nor novel in all the literature of Europe where the dangers of libertinism are more forcefully exposed," the author admits about Eugenie de Franval. Ready for all erotic games, the heroine discovers herself as her brother's lover, her son's murderer, her mother's denouncer and her father's wife.
A recently bound copy: part of the original spine and the title-pieces have been glued back together.
From the J.C. Courbin library, with bookplate. Courbin, with bookplate.
(Delon, Sade, un athée en amour, Bibliothèque Bodmer, 2014, nº 84.- Cohen, 922: the copy A. Bégis is the only one cited.-
Monglond, V, 343-344.- Martin-Mylne, Bibliographie du genre romanesque français, 1751-1800, 1977, p. 456: the British Library and BnF copies are listed as missing).
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Donatien Alphonse François, marquis de SADE.

Lot 22
Aller au lot
Estimation :
8000 - 12000 EUR

Donatien Alphonse François, marquis de SADE.

Les Crimes de l'Amour, nouvelles héroïques et tragiques ; précédés d'une Idée sur les romans, et ornés de gravures. Par D.A.F. Sade, auteur d'Aline et Valcour. Paris, Massé, an VIII [1800].
4 tomes en 2 volumes in-12 : demi-basane brune, dos lisses ornés de filets dorés, pièces de titre de veau rouge, tranches jaunes (reliure moderne).
Édition originale : elle est ornée de quatre frontispices, gravés en taille-douce, non signés ; ils sont tirés avant la lettre, comme il se doit.
Un important manifeste littéraire.
En guise d'Avertissement, le marquis de Sade livre, en une cinquantaine de pages, son Idée sur les romans. Sans doute pour échapper aux dénonciations dont il était l'objet, il fait l'apologie du roman sensible et moral, s'en tirant par une pirouette à l'adresse des détracteurs d'Aline et Valcour : "Je réponds que j'ai rendu ceux de mes héros qui suivent la carrière du vice tellement effroyables, qu'ils n'inspirent bien souvent ni pitié, ni amour, et en cela je suis plus moral que ceux qui se croient permis de les embellir."
Il exprime son admiration pour Mme de La Fayette, Rousseau et l'abbé Prévost ; en revanche, Restif de La Bretonne est exécuté sans ménagement, du fait de son "style bas, des aventures dégoûtantes... dont seuls les marchands de poivre le remercieront." L'essai s'achève par un éloge de la nature d'une force surprenante. Il s'agit d'une nature "plus bizarre que les moralistes ne nous la peignent", intégrant aussi bien les forces de destruction que les perversions.
Un recueil de onze nouvelles, dont deux, selon Gilbert
Lély, "méritent d'être rangées parmi les chefs-d'oeuvre du marquis : Florville et Courval et Eugénie de Franval."
Les nouvelles sont des fictions héroïques et tragiques, inspirées par les romans noirs contemporains, selon une morale à rebours... "Il n'y a ni conte ni roman dans toute la littérature de l'Europe où les dangers du libertinage soient exposés avec plus de force", avoue l'auteur à propos d'Eugénie de Franval. Prête à tous les jeux érotiques, l'héroïne se découvre amante de son frère, meurtrière de son fils, dénonciatrice de sa mère et épouse de son père.
Exemplaire relié récemment : on a recollé une partie du dos d'origine et les pièces de titre.
De la bibliothèque J.C. Courbin, avec ex-libris.
(Delon, Sade, un athée en amour, Bibliothèque Bodmer, 2014, nº 84.- Cohen, 922 : l'exemplaire A. Bégis est le seul cité.-
Monglond, V, 343-344.- Martin-Mylne, Bibliographie du genre romanesque français, 1751-1800, 1977, p. 456 : les exemplaires de la British Library et de la BnF sont portés manquants.)
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue