Pierre ALBERT-BIROT.

Lot 31
Got to lot
Estimation :
2000 - 3000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 4 170EUR
Pierre ALBERT-BIROT.
Le Premier Livre de Grabinoulor composed between 1918 and 1920. Paris,
Éditions SIC, 1921.
In-8 : green half-maroquin à la Bradel, smooth spine, metal boards covered with a thin strip of wood, untrimmed, cover and spine preserved, case (Mercher, 1966).
First edition.
One of 4 first copies on China paper (nº 3).
Signed autograph address under the justification:
To Jean Petithory this number 3 of the first essay of Grabinoulor
Paris 1966
P. Albert-Birot
Pierre-Albert Birot was to die the following year.
Publisher, bookseller and gallery owner, Jean Petithory, with his wife Chantal, ran Les Mains libres. Seven other books come from their library (cf. nos. 32, 34, 57, 80, 190, 198 and 199).
A superb copy. It is enriched with the following original documents:
- Poème sacré. Autograph calligram on a folio sheet (verso of a large envelope) with, on the reverse, this note signed by Arlette Albert-Birot: "Pre, pre-original of the "poem to the flesh" in the form of a phallus, taken from Grabinoulor chapter VIII First book. The only mention ever made of 'Sacred Poem'. Autograph manuscript."
- Grabinoulor (fragment). No place or date [1918]. Autograph manuscript signed, 1 page folio (on the back of an envelope with Kundig bookstore letterhead addressed to the poet). A proof of the printed version from SIC is enclosed.
- Printed subscription announcement for The First Book of Grabinoulor, Four Love Poems and six other books from SIC Publishing [ca. 1920-1921].
- Autograph letter signed to a publisher [Gaston Gallimard?] Paris, March 20, 1924. 1 ½ p. in-4. The poet recalls his career, the creation of SIC, the only performance of Les Mamelles de Tirésias, the first publications of Drieu La Rochelle, Philippe Soupault, Raymond Radiguet, Louis Aragon, then proposes Grabinoulor. He recalls that a fragment appeared in SIC in 1918 and the first book in 1920 [sic]. "I have been thinking since then and I have come to the conclusion that it is a bit regrettable to make an almost underground edition of a work that can be not only the book of a time but one of the books of the time, provided that I find the editor: I thought that you could be that editor. [...] I beg you not to displease me by considering the suppression of punctuation marks as a desire for originality and to see it only as a necessity of my style." (The work was published in 1933 by Denoël and Steele.)
- Two signed typed letters from Gaston Gallimard on the letterhead of Éditions de la NRF (May 26 and June 2, 1924). The publisher acknowledges receipt of the First Book of Grabinoulor, which he promises to read without delay, while regretting not having received the unpublished part announced by the poet. These may be answers to the previous letter.
- Printed announcement of the publication of Grabinoulor, epic by Éditions Denoël & Steele [1933].
- A caricature of the poet, his forehead girded with laurels: "The new literary giant Atlas Birot who wears a sky of laurels on his skull." Next to it, "Grabinoulor, what crimes have been committed in your name." And, on the next page, a second caricature of a pear-shaped face dedicated to the poet.
- Chronological Bibliography of the Editions of Grabinoulor [1966?]. Autograph manuscript signed in red and blue bic for Jean Petithory.
- A photographic portrait of the poet [1960s].
- Printed thanks from Arlette Albert-Birot following the death and burial of the poet. Envelope with the Petithory's address preserved.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Pierre ALBERT-BIROT.

Lot 31
Aller au lot
Estimation :
2000 - 3000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 4 170EUR
Pierre ALBERT-BIROT.
Le Premier Livre de Grabinoulor composé entre 1918 et 1920. Paris,
Éditions SIC, 1921.
In-8 : demi-maroquin vert à la Bradel, dos lisse, plats de métal recouverts d'une fine lamelle de bois, non rogné, couverture et dos conservés, étui (Mercher, 1966).
Édition originale.
Un des 4 exemplaires de tête sur papier de Chine (nº 3).
Envoi autographe signé sous la justification :
A Jean Petithory ce numéro 3 du premier essai de Grabinoulor
Paris 1966
P. Albert-Birot
Pierre-Albert Birot devait disparaître l'année suivante.
Éditeur, libraire et galeriste, Jean Petithory anima avec sa femme Chantal Les Mains libres. Sept autres livres proviennent de leur bibliothèque (cf. nº 32, 34, 57, 80, 190, 198 et 199).
Superbe exemplaire. Il est enrichi des documents originaux suivants :
- Poème sacré. Calligramme autographe sur une feuille in-folio (verso d'une enveloppe de grand format) avec, au revers, cette note signée d'Arlette Albert-Birot : "Pré, pré-originale du «poème à la chair» en forme de phallus, tiré de Grabinoulor chapitre VIIIe Premier livre. La seule mention jamais faite de «Poème sacré». Manuscrit autographe."
- Grabinoulor (fragment). Sans lieu ni date [1918]. Manuscrit autographe signé, 1 page in-folio (au verso d'une enveloppe à en-tête de la librairie Kundig adressée au poète). On joint une épreuve de la version imprimée extraite de SIC.
- Annonce imprimée de souscription pour Le Premier Livre de Grabinoulor, Quatre poèmes d'amour et six autres livres aux Éditions SIC [vers 1920-1921].
- Lettre autographe signée à un éditeur [Gaston Gallimard ?]. Paris, 20 mars 1924. 1 p. ½ in-4. Le poète rappelle son parcours, la création de SIC, l'unique représentation des Mamelles de Tirésias, les premières publications de Drieu La Rochelle, Philippe Soupault, Raymond Radiguet, Louis Aragon, puis propose Grabinoulor. Il rappelle qu'un fragment a paru dans SIC en 1918 et le premier livre en 1920 [sic]. "J'ai réfléchi depuis et j'en suis arrivé à me dire qu'il est un peu regrettable de faire une édition quasi souterraine d'une oeuvre qui peut être non seulement le livre d'un temps mais l'un des livres du temps à condition d'en trouver l'éditeur : j'ai pensé que vous pouviez être cet éditeur. [...] Je vous prie de ne pas me faire le déplaisir de considérer la suppression des signes de ponctuation comme une volonté d'originalité et de ne voir là au contraire qu'une nécessité de mon style." (L'ouvrage parut en 1933 chez Denoël et Steele.)
- Deux lettres dactylographiées signées de Gaston Gallimard à en-tête des Éditions de la NRF (26 mai et 2 juin 1924). L'éditeur accuse réception du Premier livre de Grabinoulor qu'il promet de lire sans tarder tout en regrettant de n'avoir pas reçu la partie inédite annoncée par le poète. Il s'agit peut-être de réponses à la lettre précédente.
- Annonce imprimée de parution de Grabinoulor, épopée aux Éditions Denoël & Steele [1933].
- Une caricature du poète, le front ceint de lauriers : "Le nouveau géant littéraire Atlas Birot qui porte un ciel de lauriers sur le crâne." A côté : "Grabinoulor que de crimes commis en ton nom." Et, sur la page suivante, une seconde caricature d'un visage en forme de poire dédicacée au poète.
- Bibliographie chronologique des éditions de Grabinoulor [1966 ?]. Manuscrit autographe signé au bic rouge et bleu pour Jean Petithory.
- Un portrait photographique du poète [années 1960].
- Remerciements imprimés d'Arlette Albert-Birot à la suite du décès et de l'inhumation du poète. Enveloppe à l'adresse des Petithory conservée.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue