Deeply carved ivory plaque representing scenes... - Lot 10 - Pierre Bergé & Associés

Lot 10
Got to lot
Estimation :
15000 - 20000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 18 200EUR
Deeply carved ivory plaque representing scenes... - Lot 10 - Pierre Bergé & Associés
Deeply carved ivory plaque representing scenes from the New Testament. The six scenes are arranged like a triptych in two registers, with the central part arched and the two flaps with sloping sides. From left to right and from top to bottom: the Nativity, the Adoration of the Magi, the Resurrection, the Transfiguration, Pentecost, the Assumption.
The scenes are meticulously depicted, sometimes with a multitude of characters, as in the last three. In the upper part is represented the Annunciation, the angel kneeling on the slope of the left flap, a banner in front of him, the Virgin seated next to a prie-Dieu on which rests an open book on the slope of the right flap; the star of the Nativity, in the center of the arched arch, dominates the Adoration.
England, circa 1280
Engraved inscription on the back with gothic letters
Height: from 6.6 cm to 6.8 cm - Width: from 7.8 cm to 8.4 cm - Thickness: 1.8 cm - Weight: 120 g (slight lacks, especially at the top, fixing hole)
Provenance: former private collection, Italy
Works consulted: M. Gibson, The Liverpool Ivories - Late Antique and Medieval Ivory and Bone Carving in Liverpool Museum and the Walker Art Gallery, London, 1994, cat.27, pp.71-72; P. Williamson and G. Davies, Medieval Ivory Carvings 1200-1550, part I, London, 2014, cat.52 and 53, p 170-173.
This ivory is part of an extremely small corpus that appears to be limited to four bas-reliefs: a walrus ivory plaque and a triptych held in the Victoria and Albert Museum (inv. no. 747-1877 and inv. no. 243-1867, A.31 1 and 2-1996, figs. a and b), a central triptych plate belonging to the Museum of Liverpool, from the years 1280-1300 (inv. M 8011, fig. c) as well as a diptych presented in 2019 on the Belgian art market (as South Germany or
Rheno-mosan, ca. 1220-1250, fig. d). Although displaying certain differences in their workmanship, they have in common their small dimensions, the depth of the chisel work, scenes arranged in two or three registers, often animated by numerous characters with similar heads with protruding eyes. The thick plate presented here is of a more careful workmanship; the sculptor shows indeed in some scenes a real prowess, making twelve to fifteen characters fit in a few square centimeters, up to twenty in the one of the Assumption. The particularly singular iconography with this representation of the Transfiguration showing Jesus hovering, hands joined above the Mountain, a theme of Byzantine origin, confirms the archaic character of this production and confers great interest to this hitherto unpublished plate.
A report of analysis by the carbon 14 method carried out by the CIRAM Laboratory dated 11 May 2021 will be given to the purchaser (n° 0421-OA-250Z).
It concludes that the ivory was dated between 1256 and 1303 (87.6%) with a 95.4% confidence level.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Plaque en ivoire profondément sculpté représentant... - Lot 10 - Pierre Bergé & Associés

Lot 10
Aller au lot
Estimation :
15000 - 20000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 18 200EUR
Plaque en ivoire profondément sculpté représentant... - Lot 10 - Pierre Bergé & Associés
Plaque en ivoire profondément sculpté représentant des scènes du Nouveau Testament. Les scènes, au nombre de six, sont disposées à l'image d'un triptyque sur deux registres avec la partie centrale cintrée et les deux volets à pan incliné. De gauche à droite et de haut en bas : la Nativité, l'Adoration des Mages, la Résurrection, la Transfiguration, la Pentecôte, l'Assomption.
Les scènes sont minutieusement figurées parfois avec une multitude de personnages comme sur les trois dernières. En partie supérieure est représentée l'Annonciation, l'ange agenouillé sur la pente du volet gauche, une banderole devant lui, la Vierge assise à côté d'un prie-Dieu sur lequel repose un livre ouvert sur la pente du volet droit ; l'étoile de la Nativité, au centre de l'arc cintré, domine l'Adoration.
Angleterre, vers 1280
Inscription gravée au dos ave en lettres gothiques.
Hauteur : de 6,6 cm à 6,8 cm - Largeur : de 7,8 cm à 8,4 cm - Epaisseur : 1,8 cm - Poids : 120 g (légers manques, notamment à la partie supérieure, trou de fixation)
Provenance : ancienne collection privée, Italie
Ouvrages consultés : M. Gibson, The Liverpool Ivories - Late Antique and Medieval Ivory and Bone Carving in Liverpool Museum and the Walker Art Gallery, Londres, 1994, cat.27, p.71-72 ; P. Williamson et G. Davies, Medieval Ivory Carvings 1200-1550, part I, Londres, 2014, cat.52 et 53, p 170-173.
Cet ivoire fait partie d'un corpus extrêmement restreint qui semble se limiter à quatre bas-reliefs : une plaquette en ivoire de morse et un triptyque conservés au Victoria and Albert Museum (inv. no 747-1877 et inv. no. 243-1867, A.31 : 1 et 2-1996, fig. a et b), une plaque centrale de triptyque appartenant au Musée de Liverpool, des années 1280-1300 (inv. M 8011, fig. c) ainsi qu'un diptyque présenté en 2019 sur le marché de l'art belge (comme Allemagne du sud ou
Rhéno-mosan, vers 1220-1250, fig. d). Bien qu'affichant certaines différences dans leur facture, ils ont en commun leurs petites dimensions, la profondeur du travail du ciseau, des scènes disposées sur deux ou trois registres, animées souvent de nombreux personnages aux têtes similaires avec les yeux saillants. La plaque de belle épaisseur présentée ici est d'une facture plus soignée ; le sculpteur fait preuve en effet dans certaines scènes d'une véritable prouesse, faisant tenir de douze à quinze personnages dans quelques centimètres carrés, jusqu'à une vingtaine dans celle de l'Assomption. L'iconographie particulièrement singulière avec cette représentation de la Transfiguration qui montre Jésus planant, les mains jointes au-dessus de la Montagne, thème plutôt d'origine byzantine, conforte le caractère non dénué d'archaïsme de cette production et confère un grand intérêt à cette plaque jusqu'ici inédite.
Un rapport d'analyse par la méthode du carbone 14 réalisée par le Laboratoire CIRAM en date du 11 mai 2021 sera remis à l'acquéreur (n° 0421-OA-250Z).
Il conclut à une datation de l'ivoire entre 1256 et 1303 (87,6%) avec une probabilité de confiance 95,4%.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue