Virgin and Child in polychrome terracotta.... - Lot 45 - Pierre Bergé & Associés

Lot 45
Got to lot
Estimation :
2000 - 3000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 9 750EUR
Virgin and Child in polychrome terracotta.... - Lot 45 - Pierre Bergé & Associés
Virgin and Child in polychrome terracotta.
Mary is seated, carrying the naked Child lying on her lap, who is clutching a bird in her right hand; youthful face with fine features, surrounded by a veil with knotted ends; she is clothed in a dress girdled below the chest and a cloak with the panels coming back to the front of the knees, forming harmonious, deep, broken folds
Italy, Florence, after Benedetto da Maiano (1442-1497), late 15th/early 16th century Height: 33 cm
Collection label (some wear to the polychromy of the face)
Provenance: former collection of Dr Otto Lanz (1865-1935), Amsterdam
Warren, Sculptures in Stone, Clay, Ivory, Bone and Wood, Ashmolean Museum, Oxford, T II, 2014, cat. 120 and 121.
Link: https://www.lootedart.com/news.php?r=OWX3 5H734651
A renowned Swiss surgeon, Otto Lanz is known to have amassed an important collection of paintings and art objects, mainly from the Italian Renaissance, during the first part of his life. He ended his career as a professor of surgery in Amsterdam where he died in 1935. Earlier, he had sought to sell his collection to the Rijksmuseum, which had been exhibiting a number of his objects since 1906. He also loaned 122 of his paintings to the city's Stedelijk Museum for an exhibition from June to October 1934. During the war, his heirs were forced to sell the collection to Hitler, who acquired it for his Führermuseum project in Linz, after long and complex negotiations, for 2 million Swiss francs and 350,000 guilders. After the capitulation, the collection was returned to the Dutch state. A large part of the works was returned to the Rijksmuseum, others were dispersed to various museums, and finally a certain number, judged at the time to be of lesser importance, were sold at auction, including, most probably, this beautiful Madonna from the end of the quattrocento.
This polychrome terracotta Madonna is inspired by the models of Benedetto da Maiano, a woodcarver by training. He began working with his brother, the architect Giuliano da Maiano, and later perfected his skills in the workshop of Antonio Rossellino. His Madonnas, imbued with great gentleness, show young girls' faces with delicate features, slit eyes and a sharp chin, as shown here. The composition is inspired by stucco Madonnas attributed to him, such as the one in the Ashmolean Museum, Oxford (WA 1888 .CDEF.S22, fig.a) with the veil tied over the chest, or another in the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum, Boston (inv. S27w9, fig. b), showing a very similar position of the Child and a gown girdled high below the chest.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Vierge à l'Enfant en terre cuite polychromée....

Lot 45
Aller au lot
Estimation :
2000 - 3000 EUR
Laisser un ordre
Votre montant
 EUR
Enchérir par téléphone
Enchérir par téléphone

Vierge à l'Enfant en terre cuite polychromée....

Vierge à l'Enfant en terre cuite polychromée.
Marie est assise, portant l'Enfant nu et allongé sur ses genoux qui serre un oiseau de sa main droite ; visage juvénile aux traits fins, entouré par un voile dont les extrémités sont nouées ; elle est revêtue d'une robe ceinturée sous la poitrine et d'un manteau aux pans revenant sur le devant des genoux en formant des plis harmonieux, profonds et cassés.
Italie, Florence, d'après Benedetto da Maiano (1442-1497), fin du XVe/début du XVIe siècle Hauteur : 33 cm
Étiquette de collection (quelques usures à la polychromie du visage)
Provenance : ancienne collection Docteur Otto Lanz (1865-1935), Amsterdam
Ouvrage consulté : J.Warren, Sculptures in Stone, Clay, Ivory, Bone and Wood, Ashmolean Museum, Oxford, T II, 2014, cat. 120 et 121.
Lien : https://www.lootedart.com/news.php?r=OWX3 5H734651
Chirurgien suisse renommé, Otto Lanz est connu pour avoir réuni durant la première partie de sa vie une importante collection de tableaux et d'objets d'art, essentiellement de la Renaissance italienne. Il termina sa carrière comme professeur de chirurgie à Amsterdam où il décéda en 1935. Auparavant, il avait cherché à vendre sa collection au Rijksmuseum qui exposait depuis 1906 un certain nombre de ses objets. De même, il prêta 122 de ses tableaux pour une exposition au Stedelijk Museum de la ville, de juin à octobre 1934. Pendant la guerre, ses héritiers furent forcés de vendre la collection à Hitler qui l'acquit pour son projet de Führermuseum à Linz, suite à de longues et complexes tractations, pour 2 millions de francs suisses et 350000 florins. Après la capitulation, la collection revint à l'Etat néerlandais. Une grande partie des oeuvres retourna au Rijksmuseum, d'autres furent dispersées dans différents musées, enfin un certain nombre, jugées à l'époque de moindre importance, furent vendues aux enchères dont, très probablement, cette jolie Vierge de la fin du quattrocento.
Cette Madone en terre cuite polychrome s'inspire des modèles de Benedetto da Maiano, sculpteur sur bois de formation. Il commença à travailler avec son frère, l'architecte Giuliano da Maiano et se perfectionna ensuite dans l'atelier d'Antonio Rossellino. Ses madones, empreintes d'une grande douceur, présentent des visages de jeune fille aux traits délicats avec les yeux fendus et le menton aigu comme ici. La composition s'inspire de Madones en stuc qui lui sont attribuées comme celle conservée à l'Ashmolean Museum d'Oxford (WA 1888 .CDEF.S22, fig.a) avec les pans du voile noués sur la poitrine ou une autre visible au Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum de Boston (inv. S27w9, fig. b) montrant une position très semblable de l'Enfant et une robe ceinturée haut sous la poitrine.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue