Large ivory diptych deeply carved on two... - Lot 14 - Pierre Bergé & Associés

Lot 14
Got to lot
Estimation :
50000 - 60000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 104 650EUR
Large ivory diptych deeply carved on two... - Lot 14 - Pierre Bergé & Associés
Large ivory diptych deeply carved on two registers representing under a series of four arcatures with hooks and fleurons: left leaf, the Dormition of the Virgin and the Adoration of the Magi; right leaf, the Coronation of the Virgin and the Crucifixion. Very good quality of execution.
Paris, second quarter of the 14th century
Height: 18.6 cm - Width of leaf: 10.8 cm - Thickness of leaf: 1.1 cm
- Gross weight: 456 g (small restorations and very slight accidents, traces of clasp at the top)
Provenance:
- Jack and Belle Linsky Collection, New York
- Sotheby's New York sale, Property from the Jack and Belle Linsky Collection, 21 May 1985, lot 76
- Former private collection, Utrecht
Bibliography:
- Amsterdam - Utrecht Exhibition 1987, Gotische Ivoren, Rijksmuseum - Het
Catharijneconvent, H. L. M. Defoe, cat. 5, ill.
- K. G. Beuckers, Mittelelterliche Elfenbainarbeiten aus der Sammlung des Badischen
Landesmuseums Karlsruhe, Karlsruhe, 1999, p 56, ill.38.
Works consulted: R. Koechlin, Les Ivoires gothiques français, ¨Paris, 1968; Exposition
Paris 1981/1982, Les Fastes du Gothique - Le siècle de Charles V, Galeries nationales du Grand Palais, cat.147P. Williamson, The Thyssen-Bornemisza Collection - Medieval sculpture and works of art, London, 1987, cat.24; D. Gaborit-Chopin, Ivoires médiévaux
V - XV e siècle, Musée du Louvre, Paris, 2003.
This beautiful diptych is to be placed among the large two-register diptychs of the second third of the 14th century. Among these, the one preserved in the Karlsruhe Museum (inv. no. C6463) or another belonging to the Thyssen-Bornemisza collection (inv. K9ID, fig.) unfold a similar iconographic programme. It can be linked to the art of the Parisian workshops at their peak around the so-called Krakow box workshop. The depth of the reliefs, which give a strong presence to the figures through the play of light, the abundance of drapery, among which there are still many "beak" folds, the clarity of the composition despite the richness of the subjects, the finesse of the facial features as well as the elegance of the attitudes, not yet marked by the curvatures of the bodies of the second half of the century, are all noteworthy.
All these qualities make it an accomplished example of the production of Parisian ivory makers in the 1340s.
It also belonged to the prestigious
Linsky collection, several works of which were donated to the Metropolitan Museum in New York.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Grand diptyque en ivoire profondément sculpté... - Lot 14 - Pierre Bergé & Associés

Lot 14
Aller au lot
Estimation :
50000 - 60000 EUR
Grand diptyque en ivoire profondément sculpté... - Lot 14 - Pierre Bergé & Associés
Grand diptyque en ivoire profondément sculpté sur deux registres représentant sous une suite de quatre arcatures à crochets et fleurons: feuillet gauche, la Dormition de la Vierge et l'Adoration des Rois mages; feuillet droit, le Couronnement de la Vierge et la Crucifixion. Très belle qualité d'exécution.
Paris, second quart du XIVe siècle
Hauteur: 18,6 cm - Largeur feuillet: 10,8 cm - Epaisseur feuillet: 1,1 cm
- Poids brut: 456 g (petites restaurations et très légers accidents, traces de fermoir à la partie supérieure)
Provenance:
- Collection Jack et Belle Linsky, New York
- Vente Sotheby's New York, Property from the Jack and Belle Linsky Collection, 21 mai 1985, lot 76
- Ancienne collection privée, Utrecht
Bibliographie:
- Exposition Amsterdam - Utrecht 1987, Gotische Ivoren, Rijksmuseum - Het
Catharijneconvent, H. L. M. Defoe, cat. 5, ill.
- K. G. Beuckers, Mittelelterliche Elfenbainarbeiten aus der Sammlung des Badischen
Landesmuseums Karlsruhe, Karlsruhe, 1999, p 56, ill.38.
Ouvrages consultés: R. Koechlin, Les Ivoires gothiques français, ¨Paris, 1968; Exposition
Paris 1981/1982, Les Fastes du Gothique - Le siècle de Charles V, Galeries nationales du Grand Palais, cat.147; P. Williamson, The Thyssen-Bornemisza Collection - Medieval sculpture and works of art, Londres, 1987, cat.24; D. Gaborit-Chopin, Ivoires médiévaux
Ve - XV e siècle, Musée du Louvre, Paris, 2003.
Ce beau diptyque est à placer parmi les grands diptyques à deux registres du second tiers du XIVe siècle. Parmi ceux-ci, celui conservé au musée de Karlsruhe (inv. n° C6463) ou un autre appartenant à la collection Thyssen-Bornemisza (inv. K9ID, fig.) déroulent un semblable programme iconographique. Il est à rattacher à l'art des ateliers parisiens à leur apogée autour de l'atelier dit du coffret de Cracovie. Il faut souligner ici la profondeur des reliefs qui donne une forte présence aux personnages par les jeux de lumière, l'abondance des drapés parmi lesquels subsistent de nombreux plis “à becs”, la clarté de la composition en dépit de la richesse des sujets, la finesse des traits des visages ainsi que l'élégance des attitudes, non encore marquées par les courbures des corps de la seconde moitié du siècle.
Toutes ces qualités en font un exemple accompli de la production des ivoiriers parisiens des années 1340.
Il a en outre appartenu à la prestigieuse collection
Linsky dont plusieurs oeuvres ont été données au Metropolitan Museum de New York.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue