GIDE, André.

Lot 1451
Go to lot
Estimation :
40000 - 60000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 66 979EUR
GIDE, André.
Voyage au Congo followed by Retour du Tchad and illustrated with sixty-four unpublished photographs by Marc Allégret. Paris, Gallimard, 1928.
Large in-4 of 304 pp, (2) ff, 64 photographs, 4 maps : paperback, anthracite half-maroquin case with corners, folder.
We join :
ALLÉGRET, Marc. Collection of 204 original photographs taken during the trip with André Gide.
3 albums in-folio of 218 photographs mounted on tabs, including 204 vintage prints and 14 modern prints: anthracite half-maroquin with corners, folders.
Deluxe edition, the first illustrated: it is decorated with 64 remarkable out-of-text photographs by Marc Allégret.
The illustration includes, in addition, four maps. The two travel reports were first published by Gallimard in 1927 and 1928.
Copy printed on Japan paper, not justified.
Charged with a reporting mission by the Minister of Colonies, which earned him facilities and credits, André Gide travelled through Central Africa, from the Congo to Chad, from July 1926 to May 1927. He was accompanied by his lover, Marc
Allégret (1900-1973), who had been entrusted to him by his father, the pastor Élie Allégret, his former tutor. On his return from the trip, Gide published his travel diary.
If he did not formally condemn colonization as a system, he denounced its abuses. The writer had been, indeed, the indignant witness of the exploitation of the natives by the big concessionary companies. Visiting Roger
Martin du Gard on his return, he could not contain his emotion when reading a report, however old, on a tribe "oppressed by our colonization". Martin du Gard noted in his Diary: "His sensitivity returns shaken from his trip. He is as vibrant as a microphone record" (quoted by Michel Winnock, Le Siècle des intellectuels, p.
223). André Gide thus wished to alert the public authorities and to mobilize public opinion; he was going to be served. The publication of the Journey to the Congo triggered polemics, press campaigns, an administrative inquiry and a debate in the Chamber. The bush newspaper, it is true, drew up the other side of the scene. It preserves the appeal of the adventure story, while delivering at times a subversive message, in the line of the critical journeys that go from the Supplement to Bougainville's Journey to Tristes Tropiques.
"Exceptional work by its tone and the richness of its content, the Voyage au Congo, unknown by the general public to the benefit of more complacent works, constitutes the most irreplaceable monument for the history of Africa in the first half of the twentieth century by the striking presentation that it makes of the situations, men and mentalities that characterize the colonial age" (Beti, Dictionary of Negritude, p. 73).
An exceptional copy enriched with a unique collection of 204 original photographs by
Marc Allégret taken during the trip.
The Médiathèque de l'architecture et du patrimoine in Paris, which preserves hundreds of negatives of Allégret's shots, emphasizes, in its presentation, their quality, which is due, first of all, to the truth of the look. "Marc Allégret was particularly interested in the men and women he met, photographing and filming them in their daily lives, their habitat and some of their customs that did not fail to fascinate him, including dances. The collection presented here is made up of negatives taken during his trip. Both men were not ethnologists and looked at their contemporaries with a view that oscillated between the prejudices inherent to their time and a humanistic approach.
Thus, Gide's work is considered one of the first to criticize the colonial regime.
With Voyage au Congo, the different media are thus intimately linked. The photographs are not to be seen as simple illustrations of a written narrative or a duplicate of the moving images. They are both independent and complementary to the film and the "Carnets de route". Capturing the women's hairstyles, scarification and mode of dress, but also the architecture of the huts, which differ according to the regions visited, Marc Allégret's images nevertheless have no anthropometric purpose, distinguishing themselves from the first travel photographs of the mid-nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The aim was not to create typologies of populations, but to show and make known their way of life; this undertaking could sometimes be a real plea against forced labor and the poverty of local populations. Photographing to make known an elsewhere, such was the approach of the two men."
Provenance: Dominique de Villepin, with bookplate (2013, n° 115).
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

GIDE, André.

Lot 1451
Aller au lot
Estimation :
40000 - 60000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 66 979EUR
GIDE, André.
Voyage au Congo suivi du Retour du Tchad et illustré de soixante-quatre photographies inédites de Marc Allégret. Paris, Gallimard, 1928.
Grand in-4 de 304 pp., (2) ff., 64 photographies, 4 cartes : broché, étui de demi-maroquin anthracite à coins, chemise.
On joint :
ALLÉGRET, Marc. Recueil de 204 photographies originales prises durant le voyage avec André Gide.
3 albums in-folio de 218 photographies montées sur onglet, dont 204 épreuves d'époque et 14 tirages modernes : demi-maroquin anthracite à coins, chemises.
Édition de luxe, la première illustrée : elle est ornée de 64 remarquables photographies hors texte de Marc Allégret.
L'illustration comprend, en outre, quatre cartes. Les deux relations de voyage avaient d'abord paru chez Gallimard en 1927 et 1928.
Exemplaire tiré sur papier du Japon, non justifié.
Chargé d'une mission de reportage par le ministre des Colonies, ce qui lui valut facilités et crédits, André Gide parcourut l'Afrique centrale, depuis le Congo jusqu'au Tchad, de juillet 1926 à mai 1927. Il était accompagné de son amant, Marc
Allégret (1900-1973), que lui avait confié le père de celui-ci, le pasteur Élie Allégret, son ancien précepteur. Au retour du voyage, Gide publia son carnet de voyage.
S'il ne condamnait pas formellement la colonisation en tant que système, il en dénonçait les abus. L'écrivain avait été, en effet, le témoin indigné de l'exploitation des indigènes par les grandes compagnies concessionnaires. Rendant visite à Roger
Martin du Gard à son retour, il ne put contenir son émotion à la lecture d'un rapport pourtant ancien sur une tribu “opprimée par notre colonisation”. Martin du Gard nota dans son Journal : “Sa sensibilité revient ébranlée de son voyage. Il est vibrant comme un disque de microphone” (cité par Michel Winnock, Le Siècle des intellectuels, p.
223). André Gide souhaitait donc alerter les pouvoirs publics et mobiliser l'opinion publique; il allait être servi. La publication du Voyage au Congo déclencha polémiques, campagnes de presse, enquête administrative et débat à la Chambre. Le journal de brousse, il est vrai, dressait l'envers du décor. Il préserve l'attrait du récit d'aventure, tout en délivrant par intervalles un message subversif, dans la lignée des voyages critiques qui vont du Supplément au Voyage de Bougainville à Tristes tropiques.
“Ouvrage exceptionnel par son ton et la richesse de son contenu, le Voyage au Congo, méconnu du grand public au profit d'oeuvres plus complaisantes, constitue le plus irremplaçable monument pour l'histoire de l'Afrique de la première moitié du XXe siècle par la saisissante présentation qu'il fait des situations, des hommes et des mentalités qui caractérisent l'âge colonial” (Beti, Dictionnaire de la négritude, p. 73).
Exemplaire exceptionnel enrichi d'une collection unique de 204 photographies originales de
Marc Allégret prises durant le voyage.
La Médiathèque de l'architecture et du patrimoine à Paris qui conserve les centaines de négatifs des prises de vue d'Allégret souligne, dans sa présentation, leur qualité qui tient, d'abord, à la vérité du regard. “Marc Allégret s'intéresse particulièrement aux hommes et aux femmes qu'il rencontre, les photographie et les filme dans leur vie quotidienne, leur habitat et certaines de leurs coutumes qui ne manquent pas de le fasciner, notamment les danses. Le fonds présenté ici est constitué des négatifs réalisés lors de son voyage. Les deux hommes ne sont pas ethnologues et posent sur leurs contemporains un regard oscillant entre préjugés inhérents à leur époque et approche humaniste.
Ainsi, l'ouvrage de Gide est considéré comme l'un des premiers à critiquer le régime colonial.
Avec Voyage au Congo, les différents media sont ainsi intimement liés. Les photographies ne sont pas à voir comme de simples illustrations d'un récit écrit ou un double des images animées. Elles sont à la fois indépendantes et complémentaires du film et des « Carnets de route ». Saisissant les coiffures des femmes, les scarifications et leur mode d'habillement mais aussi l'architecture des cases, qui diffèrent selon les régions visitées, les images de Marc Allégret n'ont néanmoins aucune visée anthropométrique, se distinguant des premières photographies de voyage du milieu du XIXe et du début du XXe siècle. Il ne s'agit pas de créer des typologies concernant les populations, mais bien de montrer et faire connaître leur mode de vie ; cette entreprise peut parfois s'avérer un véritable plaidoyer contre le travail forcé, contre la pauvreté des populations locales. Photographier pour faire connaître un ailleurs, telle était la démarche des deux hommes.”
Provenance : Dominique de Villepin, avec ex-libris (2013, n° 115).
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue