RESTIF DE LA BRETONNE, Nicolas Edme.

Lot 112
Got to lot
Estimation :
1500 - 2000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 1 896EUR
RESTIF DE LA BRETONNE, Nicolas Edme.
Ingénue Saxancour, or The Separated Woman: a story that demonstrates how dangerous it is for girls to marry stubbornly and hastily, despite their parents. Written by herself. Liège and is located in Paris, Maradan, 1789.
3 volumes in-12 (156 x 99 mm) of 248 pp. for volume I; 2 ff.n.ch., 240 pp. for volume II; 2 ff.n.ch., 260 pp., 4 ff.n.ch. for volume III; beige semi-percaline with corners, smooth back (binding from the first half of the 19th century).
Rives-Childs, XXXV; Lacroix, XXXVI; de Diesbach, Bonna Library, 18th century, 126.
Original edition.
"This book is the rarest of all Restif's books, either because the edition was destroyed en bloc, or because the copies were systematically sought to be destroyed one after the other... The entire edition had to be cut off and the 249-252 apges of Volume III are almost always missing" (Lacroix).
Good well bound and complete copy of pp. 249-252 of Volume III. Rare freckles.
Sources: ex-libris armoured count Gregoriy Alexandrovitch Stroganoff with the motto "Terram opes patriae sibi nomen" - Russian Library of Siberia Sibirscago Bibliothek (wet stamp on the titles).
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

RESTIF DE LA BRETONNE, Nicolas Edme.

Lot 112
Aller au lot
Estimation :
1500 - 2000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 1 896EUR
RESTIF DE LA BRETONNE, Nicolas Edme.
Ingénue Saxancour, ou La Femme séparée: histoire propre à démontrer, combien il est dangereux pour les filles, de se marier par entêtement, et avec précipitation, malgré leurs parens. Ecrite par elle-même. Liège et se trouve à Paris, Maradan, 1789.
3 volumes in-12 (156 x 99 mm) de 248 pp. pour le volume I; 2 ff.n.ch., 240 pp. pour le volume II; 2 ff.n.ch., 260 pp., 4 ff.n.ch. pour le volume III; demi-percaline beige à coins, dos lisse (reliure de la première moitié du XIXe siècle).
Rives-Childs, XXXV; Lacroix, XXXVI; de Diesbach, Bibliothèque Bonna, XVIIIe siècle, 126.
Édition originale.
«Cet ouvrage est le plus rare de tous ceux de Restif, soit que l' édition ait été détruite en bloc, soit que les exemplaires aient été recherchés systématiquement pour être détruits l'un après l'autre... L' édition entière a dû subir des retranchements et les apges 249-252 du tome III manquent presque toujours» (Lacroix).
Bon exemplaire bien relié et complet des pp. 249-252 du tome III. Rares rousseurs.
Provenances: ex-libris armorié comte Gregoriy Alexandrovitch Stroganoff avec la devise «Terram opes patriae sibi nomen» - Bibliothèque russe de Sibérie Sibirscago Bibliothek (cachet humide sur les titres).
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue