RESTIF DE LA BRETONNE, Nicolas Edme.

Lot 114
Got to lot
Estimation :
700 - 800 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 885EUR
RESTIF DE LA BRETONNE, Nicolas Edme.
Posthumous; letters received after the husband's death, by the wife, who believes him in Florence. By the late Cazotte. Paris, printed in Paris, at home; sold at Duchêne, 1802. 4 parts in-12 volumes (166 x 95 mm) of an engraved frontispiece, 2 ff.n.ch, 356 pp.
for Part I; one engraved frontispiece, 360 pp. for Part II; one engraved frontispiece, 360 pp. for Part III; one engraved frontispiece, 335 pp., 18 ff.n.ch. from the catalogue for Part IV: green half-basane, smooth back (binding from the second half of the 19th century).
Rives-Childs, XLVI; Lacroix, XLVIII.
Original edition.
"According to Bordres de Fortages, most of the copies do not have pages 117 to 123 of the first volume. What is certain is that the book was seized by the police in 1802 and had to be reworked" (Rives-Childs).
Extremely rare with the engravings for which Rives-Childs states: "On page 302 of Volume IV, there is a description of the four prints that almost never appear in the copies put up for sale long after the seizure".
A wetness in the first part and stains at the beginning of the 4th.
Attached:]
Another copy, without the engravings and with only 10 (out of 18) catalogue ff. at the end of volume IV.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

RESTIF DE LA BRETONNE, Nicolas Edme.

Lot 114
Aller au lot
Estimation :
700 - 800 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 885EUR
RESTIF DE LA BRETONNE, Nicolas Edme.
Les Posthumes; lettres reçues après la mort du mari, par la femme, qui le croit à Florence. Par feu Cazotte. Paris, imprimé à Paris, à la maison; se vend chez Duchêne, 1802. 4 parties en volumes in-12 (166 x 95 mm) de un frontispice gravé, 2 ff.n.ch., 356 pp.
pour la partie I; un frontispice gravé, 360 pp. pour la partie II; un frontispice gravé, 360 pp. pour la partie III; un frontispice gravé, 335 pp., 18 ff.n.ch. de catalogue pour la partie IV: demi-basane verte, dos lisse (reliure de la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle).
Rives-Childs, XLVI; Lacroix, XLVIII.
Édition originale.
«Suivant Bordres de Fortages, la plupart des exemplaires ne possèdent pas les pages 117 à 123 du premier volume. Ce qui est certain, c'est que le livre fut saisi par la police en 1802 et a dû subir des remaniements» (Rives-Childs).
Rarissime avec les gravures pour lesquelles Rives-Childs indique: «A la page 302 du tome IV, se trouve la description des quatre estampes qui ne se rencontrent presque jamais dans les exemplaires remis en vente longtemps après la saisie».
Une mouillure dans la 1ère partie et tache au début de la 4ème.
[On joint:]
Un autre exemplaire, sans les gravures et avec seulement 10 (sur 18) ff. de catalogue à la fin du volume IV.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue