WILDE, Oscar.

Lot 142
Got to lot
Estimation :
1000 - 1200 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 1 390EUR
WILDE, Oscar.
Portrait of Mr. W.H. Translation by Albert Savine. Paris, P.-V. Stock, 1906.
In-8 (192 x 150 mm) of VII, 342 pp., cherry semi-percaline with corners, golden head, yellow cover preserved (contemporary binding).
Original edition of the French translation.
Who is behind the initials W. H. in the dedication of Shakespeare's famous Sonnets? For Oscar Wilde, it was undoubtedly Willie Hughes, an actor specializing in female roles, as was the rule in Elizabethan theatre, with whom Shakespeare fell madly in love.
Passionate about this mystery, Wilde launched an investigation. But how can we affirm Shakespeare's homosexuality, especially when we begin to have a sulphurous reputation ourselves. Wilde therefore prefers to use the mask of fiction, which allows him to give the text a more dramatic dimension.
Translated by Savine.
Copy number 1 of the top 10 on Dutch paper (only large paper) and volume 20 of the "Cosmopolitan Library" collection. It is enriched by a letter from the translator to his publisher: "To Mr. P.V. Stock in grateful memory, A. Savine"
Very beautiful copy to great witnesses.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

WILDE, Oscar.

Lot 142
Aller au lot
Estimation :
1000 - 1200 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 1 390EUR
WILDE, Oscar.
Le Portrait de monsieur W.H. Traduction d'Albert Savine. Paris, P.-V. Stock, 1906.
In-8 (192 x 150 mm) de VII, 342 pp., demi-percaline cerise à coins, tête dorée, couverture jaune conservée (reliure de l' époque).
Édition originale de la traduction française.
Qui se cache derrière les initiales W. H. dans la dédicace des célèbres Sonnets de Shakespeare ? Pour Oscar Wilde, c'est sans aucun doute Willie Hugues, un acteur spécialisé dans les rôles féminins, comme c'était la règle dans le théâtre élisabéthain, et dont Shakespeare serait tombé follement amoureux.
Passionné par ce mystère, Wilde se lance dans une enquête. Mais comment affirmer l'homosexualité de Shakespeare, surtout lorsqu'on commence soi-même à avoir une réputation sulfureuse. Wilde préfère donc utiliser le masque de la fiction qui lui permet de donner au texte une dimension plus dramatique.
Traduit par Savine.
Exemplaire numéro 1 des 10 de tête sur papier Hollande (seul grand papier) et volume 20 de la collection «Bibliothèque cosmopolite». Il est enrichi d'un envoi du traducteur à son éditeur: «A monsieur P.V. Stock en souvenir reconnaissant, A. Savine»
Très bel exemplaire à grands témoins.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue