Remy de GOURMONT.

Lot 6
Got to lot
Estimation :
4000 - 6000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 7 410EUR
Remy de GOURMONT.
Correspondence addressed to Alfred Jarry. Autumn 1894-spring 1895.
11 autograph letters signed, two of them in fragmentary form; in all 28 pages of various sizes, 4 proofs.
Important correspondence addressed by Remy de Gourmont to Alfred Jarry during his military service: it provides a wealth of information on the creation of the second issue of L'Ymagier, the review that the two friends had just founded (October 1894).
A young writer of 21, Alfred Jarry had only recently entered the world of letters thanks to the support of Remy de Gourmont, his elder by fifteen years. His first book, Les Minutes de Sable mémorial, had been published at the beginning of October by Mercure de France. In his first letter, his mentor sends him a glowing article by Gustave Kahn: he also assures him of the publication of his Acte héraldique, the manuscript of which he has entrusted to Vallette.
It is from the second letter, written around November 1894, that Gourmont begins to talk about clichés and prints of the engravings for the second issue of L'Ymagier. In Jarry's absence, he organizes the edition by correspondence.
Around December 3, 1894, preparations are in full swing. The issue must be published on January 10th and time is short. Gourmont supervises the printing of the engravings, receives more articles, waits for Jarry's article on Les Monstres and decides on the paper. He prefers to wait for the japanese: "We know the price; there will always be time and I would like for this test that the Ymagier was a little more widespread."
Finally, he also brings some good news for the continuation of the enterprise: "Mallarmé has provided us with a subscription; this makes the fourth since your departure; two a week; it certainly works.
Saw Gauguin preparing a wood for us. Filiger has sent a pretty violin player [...], tone of St.
Cécile, for sale if we can."
A printed proof of page 138 of Ymagier No. 2, with Gourmont's autograph addition, attached to the letter, does indeed mention Gauguin's and Filiger's engravings.
The next two letters were written on the back of printing proofs.
The first one is accompanied by a folio-sized trial print of one of the Indochinese woodcuts illustrating Jarry's text on Les Monstres, with Gourmont's autograph note.
The second one wonders about the gold printing of a Russian woodcut on the cover "to amaze the simple people". Remy de Gourmont is confident about the success of this second issue - "very beautiful, even too beautiful" - and is hopeful that he will be able to publish "an issue every two months from next year, without further sacrifices".
This letter is accompanied by a proof printed on both sides of the Russian saint in gold and Saint
Madeleine "in red, gold on top which would be offered to the luxury editions".
On December 27, the issue is "finished and ready to leave for the farthest countries". Gourmont is eager to show it to Jarry who is waiting for a leave. At the same time, l'Ymagier "has acquired a branch in the passage du Pont-Neuf, from a print merchant, in exchange for good words, - and we will display there, in a special bay, all our ymagiers, pictures, books, drawings, etc."
On December 31st, he deplores Jarry's absence, who did not get his leave: "I was hoping to spend at least two good days with you, to see each other again at last and to renew the thread of the tapestry. Until the last possible moment I will wait; the villains (as Filiger says) of whom you are a prisoner will perhaps let you go at the right time.
The binding will be finished within two days. Gourmont fears trouble with the authorities because of Jarry's collaboration, who is then in the army.
At the same time, he begins to ask for the money promised by Jarry to finance the magazine.
These financial questions continue in the last two letters, written after the publication of the issue.
The last letter was written shortly before the publication of the third issue, "very simple, quite plain, with a huge booklet". By comparison, his predecessor no longer "looks very good [although] it cost a lot of money, too much, and not everything is paid for". In general, his financial situation is quite precarious, so he waits impatiently for the issue to go on sale.
The correspondence is one of the rare documents testifying to the short-lived friendship between Gourmont and Jarry.
"...I am sure I have elected a true friendship and a true intelligence: you will do very original and very beautiful things and I will believe that you do them a little so that I will not be denied; [....] you know that I always proclaim that the first condition of art is the New, i.e. the personal, - and you have that [...]", we read in the second letter.
Or in this fragment of a letter written in December 1894 "annoyed and bored, frozen by a wind full of snow,
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Remy de GOURMONT.

Lot 6
Aller au lot
Estimation :
4000 - 6000 EUR
Laisser un ordre
Votre montant
 EUR
Enchérir par téléphone
Enchérir par téléphone

Remy de GOURMONT.

Correspondance adressée à Alfred Jarry. Automne 1894-printemps 1895.
11 lettres autographes signées, dont deux à l'état de fragment ; en tout 28 pages de formats divers, 4 épreuves d'impression.
Importante correspondance adressée par Remy de Gourmont à Alfred Jarry durant son service militaire : elle livre une mine de renseignements sur la création du deuxième numéro de L'Ymagier, la revue que venaient de fonder les deux amis (octobre 1894).
Jeune écrivain de 21 ans, Alfred Jarry avait fait son entrée dans le monde des lettres depuis peu grâce au soutien de Remy de Gourmont, son aîné de quinze ans. Son premier livre, Les Minutes de Sable mémorial, avait été publié au début du mois d'octobre au Mercure de France. Son mentor lui envoie ainsi dans sa première lettre un article élogieux de Gustave Kahn : il l'assure également de la publication de son Acte héraldique dont il a confié le manuscrit à Vallette.
C'est à partir de la deuxième lettre, rédigée vers novembre 1894, que Gourmont commence à évoquer clichés et tirages des gravures pour la deuxième livraison de l'Ymagier. En l'absence de Jarry, il organise l'édition par correspondance.
Vers le 3 décembre 1894, les préparatifs battent leur plein. Le numéro doit paraître le 10 janvier et le temps presse. Gourmont supervise l'impression des gravures, reçoit encore des articles, attend celui de Jarry sur Les Monstres et décide du papier. Il préfère notamment attendre pour les japon : "Nous savons le prix ; il sera toujours temps et je voudrais pour cet essai que l'Ymagier fût un peu plus répandu."
Enfin, il apporte également quelques bonnes nouvelles pour la suite de l'entreprise : "Mallarmé nous a procuré un abonnement ; cela fait le 4e depuis votre départ ; deux par semaine ; cela marche, certainement.
Vu Gauguin qui nous prépare un bois. Filiger a envoyé un joli joueur de violon [...], tonalité de la Ste
Cécile, à vendre si nous pouvons."
Une épreuve imprimée de la page 138 de l'Ymagier n° 2, avec ajout autographe de Gourmont, jointe à la lettre, mentionne en effet les gravures de Gauguin et de Filiger.
Les deux lettres suivantes ont été rédigées au dos d'épreuves d'impression.
La première est accompagnée d'un tirage d'essai au format in-folio d'un des bois indochinois illustrant le texte de Jarry sur Les Monstres, avec note autographe de Gourmont.
La seconde s'interroge sur l'impression en or d'un bois russe sur la couverture "pour stupéfier les gens simples". Remy de Gourmont est confiant quant au succès de ce deuxième numéro - "très beau, même trop beau" - et a bon espoir de pouvoir faire paraître "un numéro tous les deux mois à partir de l'année prochaine, sans autres sacrifices".
Cette lettre est accompagnée d'une épreuve imprimée recto verso du saint russe en or et de Sainte
Madeleine "en rouge, or par dessus qui serait offert aux éditions de luxe".
Le 27 décembre, le numéro est "fini et prêt à partir vers les plus lointains pays". Gourmont est impatient de le montrer à Jarry qui attend une permission. En même temps, l'Ymagier "s'est acquis une succursale passage du Pont-Neuf, chez un marchand d'estampes, moyennant de bonnes paroles, - et nous y étalerons, dans une travée spéciale tous nos ymagiers, images, livres, dessins, etc."
Le 31 décembre, il déplore l'absence de Jarry qui n'a pas obtenu sa permission : "Je comptais passer au moins deux bonnes journées avec vous, nous revoir enfin et renouer le fil de la tapisserie. Jusqu'au dernier moment possible j'attendrai ; les méchants (comme dit Filiger) dont vous êtes prisonnier vous lâcheront peut-être à la minute qu' il faudra."
Le brochage sera fini dans les deux jours. Gourmont craint des ennuis avec les autorités en raison de la collaboration de Jarry, alors sous les drapeaux.
Il commence dans le même temps à réclamer l'argent promis par Jarry pour financer la revue.
Ces questions financières se poursuivent dans les deux dernières lettres, rédigées après la publication du numéro.
La dernière lettre a été rédigée peu avant la parution du troisième numéro "très simple, assez uni, avec un livret énorme". A côté, son prédécesseur ne lui "paraît plus très beau [alors qu'il] a coûté fort cher, trop cher et tout n'est pas payé". En général, sa situation financière est assez précaire, aussi attend-il avec impatience la mise en vente du numéro.
La correspondance est un des rares documents témoignant de l'amitié éphémère qui lia Gourmont et Jarry.
"...Je suis sûr d'avoir élu une amitié vraie et une intelligence vraie : vous ferez de très originales et très belles choses et je croirai que vous les faites un peu pour que je ne sois pas démenti ; [...] vous savez que je proclame toujours que la condition première de l'art est le Nouveau c.à.d. le personnel, - et vous avez ça [...]", lit-on dans la deuxième lettre.
Ou dans ce fragment de lettre écrite en décembre 1894 "énervé et ennuyé, glacé par un vent chargé de neigeures,
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue