Left leaf of an ivory diptych carved in depth.... - Lot 13 - Pierre Bergé & Associés

Lot 13
Got to lot
Estimation :
5000 - 7000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 7 150EUR
Left leaf of an ivory diptych carved in depth.... - Lot 13 - Pierre Bergé & Associés
Left leaf of an ivory diptych carved in depth. Scenes on two registers in a quatrefoil with redents bordered by a double listel, in the upper part, the Nativity to the Shepherds, in the lower part, the Adoration of the Magi.
The Nativity with the Shepherds: the Virgin is lying down, her head resting on her right hand, putting her other hand on the swaddled Child who is lying next to her in a cradle, Saint Joseph is at her feet; in the left corner, an angel holding a phylactery, in the centre, a shepherd looking at the Star, on the right, two sheep and a goat; the ox is lying in the foreground, the head of the donkey is visible on the left.
The Adoration of the Magi: the Virgin is seated on the left holding the Child standing on her lap, the latter grasping the present brought by the Magi kneeling before him; on the left, a king is standing with a vase in one hand, in the centre, the third is pointing to the Star.
Middle Rhine, Cologne, mid-14th century Height: 12.7 cm - Width: 7.6 cm - Thickness: 0.6 cm - Weight: 100 g (small cracks, right hand of a magus missing)
Works consulted: D. Gaborit-Chopin, Ivoires médiévaux Ve - XVe siècle, Musée du Louvre, Paris, 2003, cat.158 , p 394-396 ; Exhibitions Detroit-Baltimore 1997, Images in Ivory. Precious Objects of the Gothic Age, The Detroit Institute of Arts - Walters Art Gallery, cat.42, p 200-201.
Diptychs showing New Testament scenes inserted in quatrefoils are rare. However, several examples are known in museum collections, notably in the Louvre, which holds two, including one with four superimposed registers (inv. OA 103 and OA 4089). This type of decorative arrangement was observed throughout the 14th century. The folio presented here is of excellent workmanship, which can be compared to that of the diptych in the Louvre attributed to the Parisian workshop known as "the Krakow box" (fig. a). However, the stiffness of the attitudes and draperies links his style to the Germanic sphere. The composition of the Adoration of the Magi can be found almost identically on several colonial shutters, such as the one in the museum
Kestner in Hanover, which is probably from the same workshop (fig. b)
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Feuillet gauche d'un diptyque en ivoire sculpté... - Lot 13 - Pierre Bergé & Associés

Lot 13
Aller au lot
Estimation :
5000 - 7000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 7 150EUR
Feuillet gauche d'un diptyque en ivoire sculpté... - Lot 13 - Pierre Bergé & Associés
Feuillet gauche d'un diptyque en ivoire sculpté en profondeur. Scènes sur deux registres dans un quatre-feuilles à redents bordé d'un double listel, à la partie supérieure, la Nativité aux Bergers, à la partie inférieure, l'Adoration des Mages.
La Nativité aux Bergers : la Vierge est allongée, la tête appuyée sur sa main droite, posant son autre main sur l'Enfant emmailloté qui repose près d'elle dans un berceau, saint Joseph est à ses pieds ; dans l'angle gauche, un ange tenant un phylactère, au centre, un berger regardant l'Étoile, à droite, deux brebis et une chèvre ; le boeuf est couché au premier plan, la tête de l'âne est visible à gauche.
L'Adoration des Mages : la Vierge est assise à gauche tenant l'Enfant debout sur ses genoux, celui-ci saisit le présent apporté par le Mage agenouillé devant lui ; sur la gauche, un roi se tient debout, un vase dans une main, au centre, le troisième montre l'Étoile.
Rhin moyen, Cologne, milieu du XIVe siècle Hauteur : 12,7 cm - Largeur : 7,6 cm - Epaisseur : 0,6 cm - Poids : 100 g (petites fentes, main droite d'un mage manquante)
Ouvrages consultés : D. Gaborit-Chopin, Ivoires médiévaux Ve - XVe siècle, Musée du Louvre, Paris, 2003, cat.158 , p 394-396 ; Expositions Detroit-Baltimore 1997, Images in Ivory. Precious Objects of the Gothic Age, The Detroit Institute of Arts - Walters Art Gallery, cat.42, p 200-201.
Rares sont les diptyques montrant les scènes du Nouveau Testament insérées dans des quatre-feuilles. Plusieurs exemples sont cependant connus dans les collections muséales, notamment au Louvre qui en conserve deux, dont un à quatre registres superposés (inv. OA 103 et OA 4089). Ce type d'agencement décoratif s'observe tout au long du XIVe siècle. Le feuillet présenté ici est d'une excellente facture qui peut être rapprochée de celle du diptyque du Louvre attribué à l'atelier parisien dit “du coffret de Cracovie” (fig. a). Cependant, la raideur des attitudes et des drapés rattache son style à la sphère germanique. La composition de l'Adoration des Mages se retrouve ainsi presqu'à l'identique sur plusieurs volets colonais comme par exemple celui conservé au musée
Kestner de Hanovre provenant vraisemblablement du même atelier (fig. b)
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue